How do I swap out the primary drive for bigger drive? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone.  I am a WHS newbie, and I have installed the OEM version on a brand new Dell 531 with a single 250gig drive.  I now want to find out how I can put in a new 500gig drive as the primary, and take the 250gig out completely without having to re-install WHS.  Any help would be great.  Thanks everyone.

TF

Saturday, December 1, 2007 5:16 PM

Answers

• TF,

If you only have the one drive, your options are rather limited!

The best option would be to use a drive copy tool, such as Paragon, or Acronis, to duplicate your existing drive to your new drive. There isn't a way for you to install your new drive and do a re-install with only having the one.

Colin

Saturday, December 1, 2007 5:58 PM
  • Most hard drives come with a tools disk (at least WD and Maxtor does) that will do a perfect 1:1 copy of an old disk to the new oen.  These disks are usually bootable so it's really easy.  Just put your new drive in with the old one and boot up from the disk and follow the instructions.  Then remove old drive and have the new one as your primary master.
    Saturday, December 1, 2007 11:24 PM
  • So, has anyone out there tried to do a clone of the primary drive to upgrade the drive to a bigger size?  I have installed acronis migrate 7.0 onto the whs server, and just want to make sure it will work before I potentially ruin things.  I have the new 500gb drive ready to go to replace my smaller single drive WHS drive.  Thanks.

TF

Tuesday, December 4, 2007 7:07 PM