Installing CRM - A security question about SQL Reporting Services RRS feed

• Question

• I spent the day other day getting Microsoft Dynamics 4.0 installed and working on my test Small Business 2003 server. But I ran into a few show stoppers and I'm not sure if my work-arounds were done correctly.

The first thing that stopped my installation was SQL Server Reporting Services. I had installed an instance of SQL Server 2005 Standard (both database and reporting services) just for Dynamics CRM. It's worth noting that I'm not a SQL expert. I've only used it for website databases. Yesterday was the first time I had ever installed/configured Reporting Services.

During the installation of Dynamics CRM it checks to make sure everything is installed and configured correctly. It stopped me when it tried connecting to the SQL Reporting Services and I got a 401.1 error. I checked into it and it appeared that the reporting server was requiring a username/password in order to connect (or else it would give a 401.1 error). I wasn't sure on how to get around this, so I changed the settings within IIS for the virtual ReportingServices folder. The folder by default did not allow anonymous access, and it required a login/password in order to access the directory. So I simply checked the box to allow annonymous access and Dynmics CRM said all was well and it continued and finished installing.

That being said, is it OK to allow anonymous access to the reporting server? It seams like that's the only way to get Dynamics CRM installed. Otherwise, SQL Reporting Server requires a password and Dynamics is telling me it doesn't have access so it can't install. I'm just worried that leaving the Reporting Services open could lead to security issues. But since I know almost nothing about SQL Reporting Services, I thought I'd ask here :).

Wednesday, December 23, 2009 2:40 AM

Answers