Windows 10 Anniversary update (1607) won't allow Windows Home Server 2011 connector software to install RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using WHS 2011 for several years. On my virtual Windows 10 machine, for some reason, it's always been necessary to uninstall and reinstall the connector software (Launchpad) after each restart, but that's always fast and easy. On my physical Windows machine, the connector software has always worked flawlessly through Windows 7 and the upgrade to Windows 10 in 2015.

After the Anniversary update, the connector software will not install on either machine.  WHS 2011 is fully up to date as verified by Windows Update on the Server.

On the PCs, the installation of the connector software installer accepts the WHS password and installs almost completely, but then the green progress bar starts to go in reverse, shrinks down to nothing, and the error message pops up that the installation encountered an error, but it does not say what it is.  This happens in an identical manner on both PCs.

I've rebooted the WHS 2011 computer and both PCs several times, but the same error happens on installation of the connector software.

The Anniversary update seemed to go uneventfully on both machines. I can easily connect to the WHS from each PC via Windows Explorer, and I can connect easily to the headless WHS via Remote Desktop and open the Dashboard on WHS via the Remote Desktop connection. The server is functioning normally.

There are no Windows Server services installed on either machine, presumably because they appear only after the connector is installed.

Any troubleshooting suggestions?

Ron

Saturday, September 17, 2016 2:20 AM

Answers

All replies

• I found the answer to my problem in this thread https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/09a41a60-1696-4341-85f8-a1373a46082e/windows-10-anniversary-update-breaks-whs-connector-install?forum=whs2011&prof=required