locked
Moving centralized backup files RRS feed

  • Question

  • I'm planning to install a larger hard drive in my hub computer and want to know how to go about moving the centralized backup files form the old hard drive to the new one so that people can still retrieve their files.  How do I go about doing this?

    Thanks
    Monday, January 19, 2009 4:19 PM

Answers

  •  You may not be able to do this. However, you can *try* to copy the entire contents of the Windows Live OneCare backup folder on the current drive to the new drive. And, you would need to make sure that the new drive had the same path (drive letter and volume label) as the old drive. OneCare may then *think* that the new drive is the old drive.

    However, if you simply reset the backup plan for all PCs and reconfigure the backup to use the new drive, all PCs will begin a new backup to the new drive and then begin incremental backups to that first new backup.

     

    Open OneCare

    Click Change Settings

    backup tab

    Click Configure Backup

    Click change settings in the lower left

    Make sure that the first screen for Centralized Backup has "No Centralized backup" selected

    Click your PC on the left.

    Uncheck the selection for "Turn on backup for this PC."

    Click Next and save the revised plan.

     

    Go back to the backup tab, configure backup and click Change Settings in the lower left once again.

    Configure Centralized backup as you had before.

    Click Turn on backup for each of the PCs

    Select the change location link and select the new external drive you want to use for backup

    Modify the schedule as desired for "When"

    Select the file types as desired for "What"

    Click next and save the revised plan with the new selection.

     

    The old backups can still probably still be restored from, but only when attached to the Hub PC. Personally, I'd put aside that drive, using it for emergency recovery only, which may involve manually extracting files from the .zip backup files. Once you are certain that the data is no longer needed and all PCs have backed up to the new drive, format the old drive.
    -steve


    Microsoft MVP Windows Live / Windows Live OneCare Forum Moderator
    Monday, January 19, 2009 5:26 PM
    Moderator