View Backup stalls out at 81%, then gives error message RRS feed

• Question

• I have a mediasmart server EX470 and have noticed that when I try to view the backup, I get an error: cannot connect to the backup service on the server... I have applied service pack 1 to my home server.

I have attempted to open this backup from both a vista 64bit system and windows xp - in all attempts I have been an administrator. I can open other backups for files that are less than 100 GB. I have made sure that I modified the system policy so that any administrator can  open files. This was in a KB article that I found concerning the error.

My question is is this a defect or could my home server not have adequate memory to carry out the task. I believe I saw in the release notes that this was a known issue in service pack 1.

thanks
    Friday, February 6, 2009 2:51 AM

Answers

• mesipro said:

I have a mediasmart server EX470 and have noticed that when I try to view the backup, I get an error: cannot connect to the backup service on the server... I have applied service pack 1 to my home server.

I have attempted to open this backup from both a vista 64bit system and windows xp - in all attempts I have been an administrator. I can open other backups for files that are less than 100 GB. I have made sure that I modified the system policy so that any administrator can  open files. This was in a KB article that I found concerning the error.

My question is is this a defect or could my home server not have adequate memory to carry out the task. I believe I saw in the release notes that this was a known issue in service pack 1.

thanks

The 79%/81% backup error is an error that occasionally occurs.  First, you should file a bug report on Connect (and wait for MS to see if they can help you).  The other option would be to try repairing/deleting the backup database.
    • Marked as answer by mesipro Friday, February 6, 2009 3:21 AM
    Friday, February 6, 2009 3:01 AM

All replies