none
Exam 740: Installation, Storage, and Compute with Windows Server 2016 RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

I'm currently studying for my Microsoft 740 certificate. My employer agreed to give me a few hours/days per week to prepare for the exam.. But he also asked me when I think I will be ready to pass the exam.

Since this is the first time I'm preparing for a Microsoft certificate it's very hard to say how much time it will take.. every person is different and fixing a date is difficult.

But could you (out of experience) tell me what is a possible average to be ready for this exam? I know every person is different, but if I would love to have a benchmark to see whether my planning is feasible or not.

I have everything I need at my disposal: Official Microsoft material (e-books, labs,..) and a VM with Windows Server 2016 installed. 

Thanks in advance!

Monday, September 25, 2017 8:39 AM

Answers

• For my first exams I probably spent at least 1-2 months on them a piece.  I also kind of took my time and practiced the majority of the things that were said would be covered.  If you are trying to power through all of your studying and are given time to work on them, you can probably be prepared in 1 month if you work at it a couple hours every day.  If you don't work on it every day or that much time per day you might be looking for a little longer, just to be on the safe side of things.  You may need to adjust for more time if you haven't taken any classes or worked with servers before as well.

The best way to see if you're prepared is to look at some of the lab objectives and then without looking at the books be able to do the task.

This is all my personal experience and what I did/do to get myself prepared for exams. 

Monday, September 25, 2017 5:35 PM

All replies