Automatic Workflow for Birthday Reminders RRS feed

• Question

•  

I would like to create a workflow that automatically emails our receptionist 5 days before a contact birthday so she's reminded to prepare a card for that contact.  Our system only has about 30 or less contacts that have this option checked, not that thats relevant to the workflow.  Anyhow, Im fairly new to CRM and these workflows are tricky!  Any help would be appreciated Smile
    Monday, October 13, 2008 9:37 PM

Answers

•  

Well, thiss is not beyond the scope of workflow functionality. You need to think a bit and plan your fuctionality. Since workflow normally waits for a future date so let me give you a simple no code solution for this.

- Create a custom field at contact named next birthday

- Create two workflows:

1) Update Next Birthday (This workflow sets the next birthday first time and will not execute thereafter)

Fire this workflow on create of contact/account or on change of birthday field.

If Birthday contains data Then

Update Contact Next Birthday Field by adding 12 Months in Birthday field

2) Birthday Reminder (This workflow sends reminder emails and updates Next Borthday Field after each execution by adding 12 months)

If Next Birthday contains data Then

Wait untill 5 days Before Birthday

Send Email reminder to user - Receptionist

Update Next Birthday = After 12 months of next birthday

I have not yet tried this at my system. But i believe it should work. For any issues, contact me at email.

Cheers,

Tuesday, October 14, 2008 8:29 PM

All replies

• Proposed as answer by vasubabuk Tuesday, March 19, 2013 1:12 PM
    Monday, October 13, 2008 10:38 PM
  • Hi Matt,