having trouble installing the Live Desktop plug-in RRS feed

• General discussion

• I am new to Live Mesh and am trying to install the Live Desktop plug-in. My system is Windows XP, and the security setting for my IE8 is medium. When I go through the procedure, I get the information bar that asks if I want to install the software, but when I click Install, it just hangs up.

I did go into the Help area and looked at what it said under Live Desktop plug-in, and that the setting for Download Signed ActiveX Controls, I selected Enable, as it said (although my IE then warned me that it was not a secure enough setting). But I tried it again after that, and the same thing happened.

I would appreciate any help that anyone could give me on this. Thanks.
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 12:13 AM

All replies

• What other security software do you have running?
    Do you have any issues with other ActiveX controls?
    -steve
    ~ Microsoft MVP Windows Live ~ Windows Live OneCare| Live Mesh|MS Security Essentials Forums Moderator ~
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 12:55 PM
  • I do have the Norton 360 program running, but AFAIK I haven't had trouble with any other ActiveX controls.
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 1:37 PM
  • Just for kicks, can you try disabling the Norton 360 protection and trying the install of the ActiveX control?
    You may want to delete Temporary Internet Files before doing so.
    -steve
    ~ Microsoft MVP Windows Live ~ Windows Live OneCare| Live Mesh|MS Security Essentials Forums Moderator ~
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 1:54 PM
  • You are not suggesting disabling Norton permanently, are you? You just mean to disable it while I try to install the Live Desktop control? I'm not comfortable with removing the security completely, as it's a good program that's worked for me.
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 2:39 PM
  • No, not completely, just to see if it is hampering the installation. Quick test.
    Close all programs.