Microsoft Cert's and getting to the next level RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I wanted to ask a question regarding Microsoft (and even Cisco) certifications that you think maybe more or less appropriate (and maybe even necessary) for what I want to do:

I am a IT tech that has been working in the industry for over 15 years now.  I have been mostly on the desktop side but over the years have working on the Server side as well.  I have been currently employed with a small company (about 100 users and 15 or so servers) with one remote site (that is part of the single domain) for about 4 years now.  My primary job is with the desktops but I do act as a backup admin to on the server side.  I am trying to position myself now to switch over as a full time Server tech as this is the logical path for a tech of my experience.  I have watched Microsoft and the Micro-PC’s evolved over the years so I have a good deal of collective knowledge and experience hands on.  Earlier this year I passed my first (70-290) Certification with Microsoft’s MSCE (for Server 2003).  I would like to get some feed back as to which would be the best route in being desirable for a Server position and as to what Cert’s I should continue on.  I know that Microsoft has their new cert track (MCITP) which covers the more current Servers and technology out there.  I would like to move into a more enterprise type atmosphere as I like the challenge of a larger network.  I have had a good deal of exposure and experience now with Server 2003 (Standard Edition) R2 within a small network.

Thanks,

Damon

Thursday, August 20, 2009 5:13 PM

Answers

• I would recommend going for the MCSA for now, as you already have the 70-290 that leaves 3 more exams to do, then do the MCITP: SA upgrade.

I recommend this due to experience and the following: 

1. Windows 2003 is supported by MS for another 5 years (via extended support).