none
Auto open projects for export to excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hello every one,

I'm new with VBA but I was working with some kind of macro that automatically opens the project and export it to excel. So far, I can do the export by manually opening the project but since I'm new to VBA I am having troubles working on the automation of project opening. 

Here's how my code looks so far for exporting:

Sub Export()

FileSaveAs Name:="mytargetfolder" & ActiveProject.Task(1).Project &".xlsx", FormatID:="MsProject.ACE", map:="ASM1"

FileCloseEx Save:=pjDoNotSave, Checkin:=True

End Sub

Anyone who can help on how can I open the projects that I need to export automatically? If you had a source code that would be helpful too. I also accept any helpful criticism. Thank you!

Friday, September 25, 2020 6:02 PM

Answers

• josh_1026,

Try this. Based on what you've told me, it should do what you need.

John

Sub ExportMSFiles()
    'This macro finds all Project files (with a specific name suffix) located on a remote server
    '   and saves each as an Excel Workbook using a pre-formatted export map
    'Written by John - Project 9/26/20
    Dim prj As Object
    Dim fs As Object, f As Object

Set fs = CreateObject("scripting.filesystemobject")
    Set f = fs.getfolder("remote server path")  'for example "\\" or "<>\"

For Each prj In f.Files
        'search for Project files with an "_MS" suffix on the name
        If InStr(1, prj.Name, "_MS.mpp") <> 0 Then
            FileSaveAs Name:="desired path for Excel Workbook" & prj.Name & ".xlsx", FormatID:="MSProject.ACE", Map:="ASM1"
        End If
    Next prj
    End Sub

• Marked as answer by Josh_1026 Monday, September 28, 2020 8:55 PM
    Saturday, September 26, 2020 10:01 PM

All replies

• josh_1026,

Tell me more about your "automatically" opening a project file. What does "automatically" mean? Will your macro reside in Project, Excel, or somewhere else?