OneCare firewall is disabled by "group policy" RRS feed

• Question

• I need help getting my OneCare firewall restarted.  This is my home PC-- I am the administrator and it is not part of a network.  I have a paid subscription with 3 PC's in my OneCare circle, so I don't want to remove/clean/reload OneCare. 

My OneCare version is 2.5.2900.24.  My virus & spyware version is 1.59.1404.0.  My firewall policy verision is "unavailable."

My OS is Windows XP, Home Edition 2002.  I have SP3, IE8, and all the other updates that Microsoft says are critical.

I have tried to use the OneCare firewall repair tool, the Windows "Mr. Fixit" repair tool, and tried to restart OneCare without success.  Generally, the PC runs OK, but I can't use turn on the firewall from OneCare or from the Windows Security center.

When I open the firewall toggle menu in the Windows security center, there's a header that says "for your protection some security settings are controlled by group policy."  I can't turn the firewall on from this menu.

What's the best way to diagnose and repair the firewall on this PC?

Thanks,
    • Edited by ckumark Friday, June 26, 2009 5:42 PM Fixing thread title bug
    Friday, June 19, 2009 1:37 AM

Answers

All replies

• If the firewall repair tool did not resolve the issue try uninstalling One Care, run the cleanup tool - http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/onecareinstallandactivate/thread/399071e2-49dc-4767-932d-d261e3965943 then reinstall One Care. If the issue persists after reinstallation please contact support. How to reach support - http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/onecareinstallandactivate/thread/30400b52-7f26-4ba0-bc18-17e305329d90
    Jim - MVP Windows Live - Forum Moderator - Live One Care - Live Mesh
    Friday, June 19, 2009 2:33 AM
  • This is the hub PC for my OneCare circle.  The other 2 PC's are my kids' laptops, and they are at school in other states, so I really don't want to uninstall OneCare and lose their OneCare service.