ATI Catalyst Driver won't install and run - "CCC cannot be started because the currently active GPU is not supported." RRS feed

• Question

• All, seeing nobody else seems to be having this issue ... I assume that I am doing something wrong ... but if anyone has a suggestion where I can look ... I would appreciate it.

My WHS crashed due to a failed video card, and I decided to reinstall - because I have a lot of experience with WHS reinstallation :-). The system is up and running (generally fine). I have put a new XFX HD4350 video board in. The ATI 10.2 catalyst driver, CCC and WDM would not install. I changed the ATI Setup.exe to run under XP compatible mode ... and everything installed. Rebooting indicated that the XFX HD4350 was indeed installed. Running CCC however gives me an error indicating “… cannot be started because the currently active GPU is not supported."

I have posted a question to XFX. ATI doesn't seem to indicate that their drivers work with WIndows Home Server - so they are no help???

Does anyone have any idea what I can do to get around this?
    Sunday, February 28, 2010 4:43 PM

Answers

• All, seeing nobody else seems to be having this issue ... I assume that I am doing something wrong ... but if anyone has a suggestion where I can look ... I would appreciate it.

My WHS crashed due to a failed video card, and I decided to reinstall - because I have a lot of experience with WHS reinstallation :-). The system is up and running (generally fine). I have put a new XFX HD4350 video board in. The ATI 10.2 catalyst driver, CCC and WDM would not install. I changed the ATI Setup.exe to run under XP compatible mode ... and everything installed. Rebooting indicated that the XFX HD4350 was indeed installed. Running CCC however gives me an error indicating “… cannot be started because the currently active GPU is not supported."