I love OCS but it hates me RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a newb with this software and need some ongoing help.

My current network is:

Internet Cloud --> (Cisco Router) 10.X.X.X --> (ISA Firewall) 192.168.X.X

I have 1 public IP to work with and it forwards through the cisco router to the ISA server to host email/web services

My goals:

Enable IM internal/External (Public IM presence)

Enable LiveMeeting Internal/External with anonymous access

In the future enable Exchange UM/PSTN

I have installed OCS Std. in the 192.168.X.X network and everything works great. I created a certificate using the internal name ocs.domain.local and used it on the OCS Std. I have a public dns record called ocs.pubdomain.com. I have opened up the ports for Communicator on the ISA server. (I know not recommended but lets move on).  Internally and Externally communicator works flawlessly using all features.

Now for my confusion.

To get Public IM and anonymous livemeeting, I have installed OCS Std. Edge server roles. The computer is part of the domain in the 192.168.X.X network and it has another NIC that has 3 IP addresses. (I think Jeff S's blog said not to do this but can't remember why).

Now for the question:

In my network setup how am I going to be able to use the edge server publicly when I have a network map like the one above. Remember I have only 1 public ip. Can I use a wildcard certificate in ISA and create another public dns record called ocs1.pubdomain.com and have the traffic sent to the edge server?

Thanks!

Friday, May 23, 2008 2:30 PM

Answers

• Thanks Smile