General Hard Drive and storage configuration questions RRS feed

• Question

• I have used a 120 day trial version of the WHS and have been very impressed.  I will be using this system to simply and displace an existing set of Ubuntu Linux servers (I want to spend less time working on systems and more times using them).  As a linux administrator by trade I have to say this (not to start any flame wars) but I have been VERY impressed by WHS.  I now have a few questions about how storage works in WHS before I buy a retail (OEM) license and install over my test installation.

The primary goals of WHS for me are
    1.) To backup the family laptops
    2.) To store important family files that we don't want to lose
    3.) To store media (music, images, videos) that my family uses at home.

My concerns in order of importance are:
    1.) Integrity of data (i.e. it's not corrupted, etc)
    2.) Availability (it's up and available and the data is easy to find)
    3.) Usability

Not to carry on but I wanted to provide some background to my question:

General info about my situation:
    System:The hardware I have has been running WHS for a month now with no issues.  From what I can tell the gear I have in the system meets the Windows 2003 Server Hardware Requirement guidelines.
    Celeron Dual Core low voltage processor
    2GB DDR2 667 RAM
    Intel Dual Port Pro 1000 Ethernet Card (Server Grade)
    Cisco 8 Port managed GB Switch

Storage:
    My current setup has 2 1TB Western Digital Green (Raid Edition) hard disks on a SYBA (Silicon Images) SATA Raid controller card running in a hardware MIRROR.  Thus the volume appears to be 1 x 1TB volume (993 MB or so).  While I had to install a driver for WHS to see the volume on the raid controller the Driver is a Windows 2003 Server certified driver and seems to work just fine.