PP3 nstall did not provide latest copy of Connector software RRS feed

• Question

• Symptoms:

When I attempt to use my WHS connector, I am told I need to upgrade my connector.  When I make such an attempt I get the dreaded "This operation cannot be completed at this time." message.

While the Home Server Console still works on the server, backups have stopped working (existing backup are still there).  The last successful backup was done on Nov 28.  PP3 was installed on Nov 29.

MY INVESTIGATIONS:

1. PP3 reportedly installed correctly.  The resources screen of the Home Server Console, indicates I have pp3 installed and version 6.0.2423.0 of the Console, Backup & Restore, Drive Extender, Remote Access, and Storage Manager.

2.  The "Date Modified" on all the Connector software in my "Software\Windows Home Server\Home Server Connector Software" is March 11, 2009 (or earlier).

3.  I've been using WHS since Nov 2008 so it appears the connector software was updated at least once since initial installation.

CORRECTIVE ACTIONS:

1. Installed the Connector by using the WHSConnectorInstall.exe from my server.  The results is the same "... cannot be completed ..." message.

2. Installed the Connection by using the "setup.exe" in the "Home Server Connector Software" folder on the server.  The result is: the existing connector is uninstalled (the icon disappears from the tray), the connector is successfully reinstalled, it tells me the software must be upgraded (it seems to think it completes the upgrade). However, the tray icon still says I need to upgrade and I'm back to where I started.

3. I uninstalled PP3 and then reinstalled it.  Everything is still the same.