CRM 2016: Entity>Field> Business Rule> to set a Status field based on a Date field. RRS feed

• Question

• Need assistance not sure how to correctly create Business Rule for a specific field condition based on a date.

Currently I have a new Entity I created that has Start and End Dates and of course a Status Reason field.

What i'm trying to do is create a business rule to have the "Status Reason" set to "Expired" when an End Date is past.

I cannot figure it out how to do it correctly.

My Fields:

Sub Title:

Sub Start Date:

Sub End Date:

Status Reason:

Have a "Sub End Date" set to 03/01/2017 - with "Status Reason" of Active, I need the rule to set the "Status Reason" to "Expired" when the "Sub End Date" has passed.

Any help would be appreciated. 

I'm not a programmer, a script person, I am the administrator of our CRM application but a lot of this stuff is new to my realm of support.  So I know I have a million in 1 questions...  :-)

Friday, February 24, 2017 6:54 PM

Answers

• Hi Robin-

You can do this one of two ways:

1. You can use Workflow that runs on update of the End Date field.  Then add a Wait Condition step to your workflow, and set it to be Process -> Timeout -> Equals -> End Date.  This means the workflow will kick off, then wait until the End Date, then continue.  The next step could be the step to update the Status Reason to Expired.

2. Create another field, that's a calculated field, and it can be labeled "Today" and then you can leave the Condition of the field blank.  For the Action, simply add a row that has = "NOW()".  Save this field and now you have a date field that will automatically update with the current date.

Now in your Business Rule, your condition can be:
      Source: Entity
      Field: End Date
      Operator: Equals
      Type:  Field
      Value:  Today

Now add your action to set the Status Reason to Expired.

Good luck!

• Edited by Pete Majer Friday, February 24, 2017 8:57 PM