End user ideas... RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello to everybody from Germany,

(and therefore in advance my deepest apologize for the bad and very limited English. ;-))

First of all I need to say that I have been amazed by the idea of a Windows Home Server acting as a central instance in the home to support the central storage and backup of data distributed on many different digital devices.

Having checked now the first reports, tests and announcement on various places in the Internet the following questions, ideas and concerns come up to me:

Accessing the WHS from everywhere and every computer in the world is in general a phantastic idea. I am travelling most of my time since I am a consultant. I all too often would like to access my Home PC like I do it with the network of my company via a VPN connection. And that´s exactly the point and the arising question. When I buy and install such a WHS and I travel to another country, will I be able then to connect with the WHS via a VPN connection which provides at least a certain privacy? Or will it be totally unsecured?

What are the measures to protect the transfered data from any observation?

What are the measures to protect the WHS from any kind of intrusion?

Convincing security will be the key success factor for the WHS.

Next thing is that I would like to switch in the near future from a conventional video recorder to a more modern videorecorder working with a harddrive instead of tapes. As we all know, the built in hard drives of those videorecorders are much too small to handle more than 5-10 videos. So, this - I think at least - is one of the primary use cases and ideas of the WHS, isn´t it?