locked
Mistakenly Copied User's Folder to Another User's folder RRS feed

  • Question

  • I was working in WHS about to copy something into User X's folders through the shared folders.  But, I brushed the touchpad on the laptop and it copied the entire User X's folder into User Y's folder.  After reading through threads (wondering how to search for the topic, as it is not really deleted), it appears that it is best to focus on the data rather than trying to restore User X's folder (access denied to drag back).  So, is it best to back up the User X folder under User Y, delete User X as a user off of the WHS, re-create User X and then drag the data back.  Or, is there an easier method to accomplish putting this back.

    Thanks for the advice.

    Wednesday, March 23, 2011 4:01 AM

All replies

  • How about restoring User X's folder from a server backup?
    Wednesday, March 23, 2011 1:04 PM
  • Thanks for the information.  I don't back up the user directories.  Nor does there seem to be a shadow copy. 
    Wednesday, March 23, 2011 8:41 PM