Thoughts From A Relatively New User RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using WHS at home for about four months on a little Asus Mini TS box (very nice piece of equipment) and at work to backup a bunch of virtualized test machines.  I'm quite pleased with the product; you folks nailed it on this one.

There are a couple things that mildly bug me, and a quick search here didn't register any hits, so for the sake of discussion:

#1: I have a couple of older laptops that don't get very much use.  Unlike desktops, I have some emotional reluctance to jettison laptops.  But if I don't turn 'em on every five days, WHS will get all hot-and-bothered about not being backed up in the approved period of time.  I sure wish I could configure the warning time period on a per-machine basis.  Once a month would be sufficient for some of these guys.

#2: Sometimes when I turn on a laptop to allow it to be backed up, the backup starts immediately.  It takes over the processors so heavily that I can't even swipe my finger to log in (these are various Thinkpads), although I can usually get in via textual password entry.  Other times, I log in and get the "backup will start soon" message and have to wait five minutes for the automatic backup to start, or to manually start the backup.   And sometimes it doesn't want to back me up at all, at least in the first few minutes, and I again force a manual backup.  Guess I don't understand the algorithms at play here!  And I wish I could manually cause an automatic backup (!) so that the backup isn't named "Manual Backup" and I don't have to go in and change the retention from "retain" to "manage automatically".  Make sense?

Thanks for listening!

Art

Friday, April 9, 2010 6:39 PM

Answers

1. You can change the period by editing the registry on the server, though this isn't supported. See this thread for more information. Or you can tell your server to "turn off" backups for a PC; you will no longer be warned if you do so.