Making changes in DB related to access rights RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to CRM so please correct me if I am wrong. Now we have our CRM in which we have a Primary & a secondary Sales person associated with each customer. When a Sales Rep creates a Customer he becomes the owner as well as the Primary sales person for the customer & he enter's the secondary sales person. Now whenever the secondary sales person needs to make changes in the Customer record the primary sales person need's to give him every right's other than Delete by going in Customer Record -> Share. Now I need to make changes in DB using a database script, so that every Secondary sales rep has every right's other than Delete on the record created by the Primary Sales Rep. How should I do that? Any suggestion.

I also wish to make sure that in future Primary as well as secondary Sales Rep have rights on the record created by Primary sales rep.

Please suggest something. Thanks in advance.

Amar

Thursday, May 12, 2011 11:21 AM

Answers

• Amar,

Assuming you have a lookup in the customer entity (account/contact) to the secondary sales rep, you can first retrieve all the entities you need to process (RetrieveMultiple request), then for each entity you get the EntityReference for the secondary sales rep and then you can use the GrantAccessRequest to grant access to the secondary sales rep to the customer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.crm.sdk.messages.grantaccessrequest_methods.aspx)

Here is some code to get you started:

QueryExpression q = new QueryExpression("account");
    //...filter query if necessary

EntityCollection coll = service.RetrieveMultiple(q);

foreach (Entity e in coll.Entities)
    {
      EntityReference secondarySalesPerson = e["new_secondarysalesperson"] as EntityReference;

GrantAccessRequest r = new GrantAccessRequest
      {
        Target = new EntityReference(e.LogicalName, e.Id),
        PrincipalAccess = new PrincipalAccess
        {