VB script for file copy RRS feed

• Question

• Hi 

Im a beginner and this is a basic vb script to copy a file from a network location.  This works sometimes but  fails at times with error " File not Found" .  I don't understand why it should fail sometimes.  The below is the code.

Function Main()
    dim fso, f

Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    set f = fso.getfile("\\servername\X$\jobs\my file copy.mdb")
    f.delete
    set f = fso.getfile("\\servername\my-folder$\my data\access files\folder\Databases\my file.mdb")
    f.copy ("\\servername\X$\jobs\my file Copy.mdb")
    set fso = nothing
    Main = DTSTaskExecResult_Success

End FUNCTION

Mli.a | Mark the answers if it helps to solve your problem |

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Wednesday, February 18, 2015 9:47 PM Unanswerable drive-by question
    Thursday, December 25, 2014 5:06 PM

All replies

• Which line generates the error message? It could be one of several!
    Did you check whether the source or the target file might be locked or hidden?
    Thursday, December 25, 2014 5:15 PM
  • It gives error on line 4.  I know the target file is not used so it cannot be locked, but there may be chances of source file getting locked.

Is there a way to see if its due to lock or any alternate way to copy...Thanks for your response.

Thursday, December 25, 2014 5:32 PM
  • Here is the easiest why to copy/overwrite a file:

fso.CopyFile "\\servername\my-folder$\my data\access files\folder\Databases\my file.mdb", "\\servername\X$\jobs\my file copy.mdb",True

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Thursday, December 25, 2014 5:39 PM
  • It gives error on line 4.  I know the target file is not used so it cannot be locked, but there may be chances of source file getting locked.

Line 4, according to the script you posted, is this one:

Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject"

How about quoting the actual script line to save us the trouble of counting or guessing? If you are talking about this line