Partially observed values RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm new to Infer.NET and I find it is really interesting.

When I play with some examples and tutorials, I found one question that I don't know how to resolve. Basically, I am wondering can can we specify the partially observed values for Array variables. 

For example, in the document http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/cambridge/projects/infernet/docs/cloning%20ranges.aspx

It takes the Mixed-Membership Stochastic Blockmodel as an example for Cloning Range.

When trying to hook up the data, it has the following,

Y.ObservedValue = YObs;

where YObs is a 2D array of all observed data. My question is that what if some of the entry is not observed, how can we specify this for the InferenceEngine.

I tried to do thing like ClearObservedValue for individual  entries of Y, 

Y[a][b].ClearObservedValue();

but it failed. The error message told me to use the function for the array instead of individual entry. 

What should I do to allow some entries as unobserved? Should I change the declaration of Y?

Thanks,

Zheng

No Signature yet

Tuesday, June 18, 2013 7:57 AM

Answers

• Hi Zheng

There are a couple ways to partially observed array variables. http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/cambridge/projects/infernet/docs/How%20to%20handle%20missing%20data.aspx gives one way - i.e. condition on an observed VariableArray<bool> (or more complex array). Alternatively you can use the SubArray factor and use an observed VariableArray<int> to pull out a subset of the elements. In both of these methods, you can just observe the observation pattern at run-time so there will be no recompilation of the model (as you would get if you were able to clear individual values).

John

• Marked as answer by JakeZChen Wednesday, June 26, 2013 4:02 AM
    Wednesday, June 19, 2013 7:52 AM
    Owner
  • Hi Zheng

If you want to feed posteriorPi back into a prediction model, you need to do something like the following: