Unable to manage a user in CRM 3.0 RRS feed

• Question

• Within CRM I am a Sys Admin and Sys Customizer, I am a member of the Admin group for "my" AD Domain, there are three domains, we will call them SD, QA, Prod. I am in SD and have Admin rights to QA as well, I am only a user of Prod. Now that the basics are out of the way, the issue:
    When I go to my users, and select a user that is in my QA domain, who has an active AD account, I cannot modify their account at all.
    Domain Logon Name, Main Phone, First Name, Last Name, Preferred Phone and Restricted Access Mode are all greyed out.

If I nav to Roles, there is no Manage Roles option/menu item. I did, however, assign a role through SQL to this user.

another interesting thing is that I cannot Enable the user. I get the follwoing error:
    "The user authentication passed to the platform is not valid"

I have researched this and found several articles, even one from MS, but non of the solution worked for this situation.

Here is the log entry from the w3wp-CRMWeb-20090512.log file:
    [2009-05-12 14:58:10.3] Process: w3wp |Thread: 3412 |Category: Application |User: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000 |Level: Error | ErrorInformation.LogError
    	at ErrorInformation.LogError()
    	at ErrorInformation..ctor(Exception exception, Uri requestUrl)
    	at MainApplication.Application_Error(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    	at EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    	at HttpApplication.RaiseOnError()
    	at HttpApplication.RecordError(Exception error)
    	at HttpApplication.ResumeSteps(Exception error)
    	at HttpApplication.System.Web.IHttpAsyncHandler.BeginProcessRequest(HttpContext context, AsyncCallback cb, Object extraData)
    	at HttpRuntime.ProcessRequestInternal(HttpWorkerRequest wr)
    	at HttpRuntime.ProcessRequest(HttpWorkerRequest wr)
    	at ISAPIRuntime.ProcessRequest(IntPtr ecb, Int32 iWRType)
    >MSCRM Platform Error Report: