none
Transferring Media Files to WHS RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm a newbie to both the WHS and to this forum.  I tried searching this site to see if this question has been answered before but I cannot seem to find any answers - so forgive me if this has been asked before.

I tried to copy my shared media files to my home server via the regular copy-paste function.  Because I have a lot of media files, the copy process ran for more than an hour.  When it got done, I noted that everything was copied correctly.  However, in each folder in the server, a new folder labeled ".tb" was added.  What is the purpose of this folder and is there a way to disable this?  I would like to have the ability to use a sync software to ensure that the media files in my main computer is sync'd up with the media files in the WHS but I'm afraid that running this software would also create .tb folders in my main computer.

Also, is there a better (i.e. faster) way to copy media files to the WHS?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Tuesday, March 23, 2010 4:57 AM

All replies

• Hi, I'm a newbie to both the WHS and to this forum.  I tried searching this site to see if this question has been answered before but I cannot seem to find any answers - so forgive me if this has been asked before.

I tried to copy my shared media files to my home server via the regular copy-paste function.  Because I have a lot of media files, the copy process ran for more than an hour.  When it got done, I noted that everything was copied correctly.  However, in each folder in the server, a new folder labeled ".tb" was added.  What is the purpose of this folder and is there a way to disable this? 

I don't know what it is, but I can tell you it's not normal (that doesn't happen on mine).  Is this a pre-built server (from HP, Acer, etc) or a DIY?  Have you installed any applications from the server desktop?