none
How to force PS to wait for .exe process to finish before continuing through script? RRS feed

• General discussion

•  

Hello!

I am quite new to PowerShell.

I have a script that does the following:
     1. Loops through files in a folder to compress them and move them to a "temp" folder
     2. Copies all files in the "temp" folder to an AWS S3 bucket
     3. Moves all files from the "temp" folder to a separate different folder on the LAN

My issue is with the part of the script that uploads copies of the file to S3 (step #2).  When I call the application normally in the script, it runs fine, but the script doesn't wait for that part of the process (#2 above) to finish before moving onto the next part of the script (#3 above).  This results in my files not being uploaded to S3.  So, (I'll just include the problematic part of the script). . . 

### 1. Zip/encrypt file; move to $TempDir ###
    		#RESULT: (the associated code completes as expected)

### 2. Transfer to the AWS S3 location specified ###
    & "C:\TestOut\S3Sync\S3Sync.exe" -AWSAccessKeyId ABCXYZABCXYZABCXYZAB -AWSSecretAccessKey 9Ium89Ium89Ium89Ium89Ium89Ium89Ium89Ium8 -SyncDirection upload -LocalFolderPath "C:\TestOut\Temp" -BucketName MyDatabaseBackups -S3FolderKeyName "TestBackup/" 
    		#RESULT: The file is *NOT* transferred to S3

### 3. Moves the compressed/encrypted file to specified directory on the LAN ###
    		#RESULT: (the associated code completes as expected)

What's happening here is the script is moving so quickly, it's getting to step #3 before the .exe in step #2 can get initiated and upload the file to S3.  (I know this because if there are multiple files included in the operation, some or all of them are uploaded as expected.)

My search for a solution has led me to try piping the command to "out-host" or to "out-null".  However, when I try either of these, the error I get is: