HELP! MS Money Keeps Crashings upon Opening RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using MS Money for over 20 years with data going back 1995. I believe I started with the 1999 version that came with a Windows 98 computer I purchased in 1999. Subsequently, I updated with multiple software versions until they Microsoft stopped updating it. I pretty much have all of the financial data for my adult life stored in the program. I'm currently using MS Money Plus Deluxe Sunset (v17.0.120.3817) on a computer running Windows 10. The .mny file is currently showing as 225,544 KB in size while my most recent backup .mbf file is 30,943 KB.

After entering a few transactions I clicked on the Home Button after a few seconds the program completely closed. Now whenever I open the program it shuts down abruptly after I log in once it reaches the Home screen. I revered back to a recent backup copy and I was able to access everything that was loaded up to that point. When I go to add recent transactions, it crashing again once I click on the Home Button and the same situation where I am unable to re-open the program.

Opening the program from the Sample File, I ran the File Repair 3 times. First Level 1 (Quick) ,then Level 2 (Standard), and last Level 1 (Quick) again. The final repair file is 86,916 KB. When I open this final, the same occurs where the program shuts down upon loading the home page.

Do you think I have too much data and the size of the file is too large. I really like having my complete financial history readily available in one place and would hate to no longer be able to use this program. Any solutions out there for my issue? I already tried re-installing the program including replacing the DLL file and fixing the Internet Explorer registry version number.

Friday, January 31, 2020 2:52 AM

Answers

• Open whatever file you can. If your regular file does not open, open  Sample.mny or some other file.

Then go to Tools->Settings->ProgramSettings and set the