none
Help desk resources RRS feed

• Question

• I am a web developer and now need to do desktop support. Can anyone help me with a desktop support book for windows 7? Or any other learning resources?

Thank you

McC

Friday, September 14, 2012 2:41 PM

Answers

• Here is a link to Amazon for the top selling study guides for Windows 7 desktop support exams.

Please read the honest user reviews on the books to determine which is best:
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=desktop+support+exam

Good luck!

Best wishes, Davin Mickelson

Friday, September 14, 2012 4:44 PM
    Answerer
  • Hi John,

Thanks for posting. Since you weren't very explicit about your new desktop support role, or the type of organization you work in (small office or enterprise), or the network configuration (workgroup or domain), I'll have to make some assumptions in giving my recommendations.

I'm assuming that you're in a small organization with computers in a workgroup configuration, and you'll need to help diagnose and resolve users' computer issues when they arise. I'm also assuming that these books are solely for learning, and not for Microsoft certification.

Therefore I'd recommend the following books from Microsoft Press:

1. Self-Paced Training Kit for Exam 70-685: Windows 7 Enterprise Desktop Support Technician

2. Troubleshooting Windows 7 Inside Out: The Ultimate In-Depth Troubleshooting Reference

The 70-680 Training Kit is a textbook with exercises, meant to teach you how to support Windows 7 computers, while the Inside Out book is a compendium of problems and fixes for quick reference. Both books are well written, easy to read, and and should be extremely useful in helping you diagnose and resolve Windows 7 problems while developing your troubleshooting skills.

I hope you find this information useful. I wish you every success in your new support role.

Saturday, September 15, 2012 10:33 AM
  • Hi John,