120 day trial version dying before my eyes RRS feed

• Question

• I've been running the 120 day trial for about three months & was expecting to have to buy the full version soon. This evening I spotted that the date on the server was out by one day - so i changed it to the correct date (back one day). an hour or so later i had a pop up from the tray stating that i had 19 days left - i was a little surprised, as i thought i had over a month left. An hour later I got another pop up saying i had 14 days left - i now have 7 days left!!!
    Tuesday, April 14, 2009 9:06 PM

Answers

• Is it possible that you've actually had it running for nearly 4 months, and just lost track? In any case, after some three months you're getting near the end of the eval period.

Because of the way the time bomb is built into the operating system, you can't disable or reset it. If you want to continue using Windows Home Server, you'll need to purchase and install a full licensed copy. There's a FAQ describing the upgrade process. If you've decided to buy, but need a few weeks to actually get the software in hand for installation, you can follow the steps in that FAQ with your current evaluation software, except don't activate it at the end (because your current license key has already been used). That will give you 30 days before you'll have to activate or reinstall again.

I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Tuesday, April 14, 2009 9:15 PM
  • Another option is to do a "reinstall" (as opposed to a new installation) of a further Evaluation copy - you will need a new key which you can get by registering for one on Connect or ring the Microsoft activation call center and explain you've had to do a reinstall of WHS (they'll ask you if you have it installed elsewhere which you can advise them is not the case)

Clearly doing this every 4 months is not a great scenario - but if you need to buy yourself sometime to complete your evaluation this is an option that works