none
New to PS but trying RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello Scripting Guy,

Let me start off by saying I have never seen PS before.  I am a complete NOOB...I am a Systems Engineer so I use AD a lot and I had a co-worker that could do things that took him 10 minutes and I would had taken me hours.  I want so badly to get knowledgeable on how to use it.  I know it would streamline a lot of my tasks.

I am pretty simple you type in a cmdlet and it does what you say but I type this in and I am not sure why -module is there?

Get-Command -Verb get -Noun *ip* -Module NetTcpIp

I am not sure why -module works.  I am reading what it means but -module doesn't make sense to me?

it appears that the  -Module NetTcpIp essentially says show only those that have NetTCPIP

when I type Get-Command -Verb get -Noun *ip*

I show belowSource is where I find NetTCPIP

it would make sense to me if it were wrote like this?

Get-Command -Verb get -Noun *ip* -source NetTCPIP

of course it didn't work.

when I see Module I think Get-Module and I am not sure what the -module Operator does?

I am following along with 2 books you have released Powershell 3.0 and Powershell Step by Step.  I switch between the two to get more information as I go along. 

I am sorry if this is something simple but I just need an explanation of why -Module works, and what are operators?

Lastly is there another way to type this that is easier or makes more sense?

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:24 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:25 PM This is not "teach me basics step-by-step" forum
    Wednesday, July 25, 2018 8:39 PM

All replies

• Are you asking what the -Module parameter to Get-Command does?

The help states:

Specifies an array of modules. This cmdlet [i.e., the Get-Command cmdlet] gets the commands that came from the specified modules or snap-ins.
    Not sure what's unclear about that?

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]