Problem with ACER vista COA OEM keys, says invalid? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a computer technician and I've run into this issue on three different acers now. For some reason the product keys for windows vista (both home basic and premium, but it's probably not limited to those two) report themselves invalid. They won't be accepted by the all-versions OEM dvd, and they aren't accepted if you try adding the key after vista is installed.

Now I've researched this problem extensively, and so far this is what I've found:

1. Other people are having this problem with Acers.

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en/genuinevista/thread/438bc501-1433-4d15-ad2f-07da1300b9c2

2. Nobody has actually found a solution.

3. Acer claims they really do not care. I've had to lie to them repeatedly just to get in touch with a human, as their phone system has 30 different menus, all of which end in them curtly exclaiming "Good Bye" and hanging up. According to them, if the hardware is out of warranty they don't care that the license is invalid. They offer the suggestion of purchasing a recovery disc. Microsoft support has also offered only this solution. They have not yet explained why the OEM discs do not work with these OEM keys.

4. I have used these OEM discs with HPs, Dells, Sonys, and Toshibas, without any issue of a rejected key. Only Acers are having a problem. This is a significant issue.

Now as many people will point out, we could just get the recovery discs from acer for each computer. But that being said, it certainly doesn't address the following issues:

1. Why the keys plainly do not work.

2. Why we should spend more money on a product that has already been purchased. I didn't read any restriction on the EULA for acer that mentioned the key is only valid for the first year.

I am posting this here as a last ditch effort. The best advice I've got so far for my acer clients (and they're starting to add up), is to consider a class action law suit.