none
Syntax Help needed RRS feed

• Question

• Hello My name is Jonathan. I am new to the developent community as i have just started learning Java.

One of the questions in my course work reads as follows:

Create a class called Dog. The class should have a constructor and a method called rollover(). Create a new instance from the main() method and then call the rollover() method on the instance. When a new instance is created the program should print "Bark" to the screen. When the rollover() method is called, the program should print out "Rolling Over!" to the screen. This is what i have come up with...

public class Dog {

public Dog ();

static String rollover (); {

}

public static void main (String[] args) {

Dog Fido = new Dog ();

System.out.println("Bark");

Fido.rollover ();

System.out.println("Rolling Over!");

}

}

Please tell me if this is correct or not?? when i compile it with the javac command in the prompt, it always returns an error!!!!

I hope to get some feedback soon 

Thanks again

Monday, September 20, 2010 7:31 PM

Answers

•  Hi,

Thanks for your post here, this forum is for discussing Microsoft
    Learning/Certification questions. You probably want to ask here for
    future questions:

or temporarily,

You're in luck though, I know Java. Based on your question, you are
    pretty close to the correct version

Dog.java:

import java.io.*;

public class Dog {
             public Dog () {
             }
              public void rollover () {
             }
                        Dog Fido = new Dog ();
                        Fido.rollover ();
             }
    }

What is the specific compiler error that you receive?

-- Mike Burr
    • Edited by Mike Burr Tuesday, September 21, 2010 8:09 PM minor syntax error
    • Marked as answer by Rubel KhanModerator Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:27 PM
    Monday, September 20, 2010 10:47 PM
  • Hi Jonathan,