Upgrading XP Home to XP Pro questions.. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I have purchased on line XP Pro OEM software.  I have not yet installed due to some questions.  I am currently running XP home which came with my Dell computer in 2003, can I upgrade this by installing and following the prompts or do I need to back everything up to a CD, uninstall xp home and install this new xp pro opperating system?  As a realtor I am depending on my computer for my business, I can not spare any downtime.  What would you suggest?

Thursday, September 21, 2006 10:38 PM

Answers

•  RTexas wrote:

Hi there,

I have purchased on line XP Pro OEM software.  I have not yet installed due to some questions.  I am currently running XP home which came with my Dell computer in 2003, can I upgrade this by installing and following the prompts or do I need to back everything up to a CD, uninstall xp home and install this new xp pro opperating system?  As a realtor I am depending on my computer for my business, I can not spare any downtime.  What would you suggest?

An OEM version of Windows XP Professional can only be installed as a "clean install".  If you wish to upgrade over an existing Windows XP Home Edition installation, you'll need to purchase a "Retail Upgrade Version" of Windows XP Professional.

Clean Install Windows XP
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/cleanxpinstall.html

Friday, September 22, 2006 12:26 PM
  • Hello EPH,

Thank you for visiting the Microsoft Genuine Advantage Forum.  The purpose of this forum is the support of Windows Genuine Advantage (WGA) program.  Your question is off topic. Please post your question  in the Discussions in Windows XP General newsgroup forum located here:  

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/newsgroups/reader.mspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.general&lang=en&cr=US