none
MCITP, what is needed? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I decided I want to be MCITP certified... I have got no experience with server but I have intrinsic knowledge of IT. I bought myself the MCITP Training Kit to study and prepare for the exams. my question is, as someone with no server experience, is it a good idea for me to make a start on MCITP books straight away without any other certification? 

Would my knowledge on normal OS be enough for me to revise for MCITP? if not, what would you suggest? 

Monday, January 2, 2012 7:54 AM

Answers

• Start with an MCTS, since it is anyway a prerequisite for the MCITP certification. For instance, if you are pursuing the MCITP:Server Administrator, then you can first take either exam 70-640 or 70-642, which will give you a MCTS certification (later required for the MCITP).

Go to the exam description page, for instance, this one for 70-640:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/exam.aspx?ID=70-640&locale=en-us

and read all the entries under the "skills measured" tab. If you are familiar with all of these topics, then you can take the exam. Otherwise, use any available resources (such as the Training Kit) and do some practice on a few virtual machines that you can set up for the purpose, until you are confident enough that you can cover all the Skills Measured for your chosen exam.

Monday, January 2, 2012 8:23 AM

All replies

• Start with an MCTS, since it is anyway a prerequisite for the MCITP certification. For instance, if you are pursuing the MCITP:Server Administrator, then you can first take either exam 70-640 or 70-642, which will give you a MCTS certification (later required for the MCITP).

Go to the exam description page, for instance, this one for 70-640:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/exam.aspx?ID=70-640&locale=en-us