none
How to do what Subscribe used to do? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I used Subscribe with V1.4 to copy my picture library to the PC my family uses to view/print/edit.  I always had assurance that if anyone accidentally erased a picture, it would be replaced on the next scheduled run of Synctoy.

    With V2.0 that action has been deleted.  Is there another way to do it?  Or do I need to find a different tool (or revert to V1.4)?

    Thanks.
    Monday, November 3, 2008 6:40 PM

Answers

  • Hi again

     

    Vern, I appologize, I missunderstood your question.   The link I sent you before, just explains what is expected from SyncToy when doing a one-way sync with echo and having deletes on the right folder.  But as I see now, it does not give you a direct answer.

     

    The answer to your question is No.  There is not another way to do this with SyncToy v2.0.  If you are doing a one-way sync (either Echo or Contribute) with SyncToy v2.0, changes you make to your Right Folder will not be overwritten.  If you delete something in the Right Folder, it will not be included in the next change batch.   

     

    Maria del Mar Alvarez Rohena - MSFT

     

    Friday, November 21, 2008 8:23 PM

All replies

  • Please read SyncToy FAQ Question "Q. SyncToy 2.0 appears not to sync deleted files when I have the sync option set to 'Echo'"

     

    This seems to be what is happening in your computer.

     

    Maria del Mar Alvarez Rohena - MSFT

    Thursday, November 20, 2008 7:00 PM
  • Hi,
    You don't seem to have answered the question.
    Poster used previous version of SyncToy to mirror files from A to B. If files are accidently deleted on B then
    VSMN1 doesn't want them also deleted on A.
    So the question is still How to do what Subscribe used to do?
    Why was Subscribe removed?
    Paul

    Friday, November 21, 2008 3:57 PM
  • Liassic,

    You are correct that I am trying to re-create what the Subscribe function performed in V1.4, and the response from
    Maria del Mar Alvarez did not answer my question.  I looked through the FAQ section and did not find any help on this subject.

    The release notes for V2.0 simply say that Subscribe was deleted, but do not give any reason or any work-around for those who need it.

    Thanks for your input.

    Vern
    Friday, November 21, 2008 7:44 PM
  • Hi again

     

    Vern, I appologize, I missunderstood your question.   The link I sent you before, just explains what is expected from SyncToy when doing a one-way sync with echo and having deletes on the right folder.  But as I see now, it does not give you a direct answer.

     

    The answer to your question is No.  There is not another way to do this with SyncToy v2.0.  If you are doing a one-way sync (either Echo or Contribute) with SyncToy v2.0, changes you make to your Right Folder will not be overwritten.  If you delete something in the Right Folder, it will not be included in the next change batch.   

     

    Maria del Mar Alvarez Rohena - MSFT

     

    Friday, November 21, 2008 8:23 PM
  • Maria,

    Thanks for your reply.  I am disappointed that this functionality was removed. 

    Vern
    Friday, November 21, 2008 11:37 PM