Restrict computer to single user RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!  I am new to theSteadyState forum but I am hoping it can do this for me.  I am the IT support person for an alterante school and I have a request for a student to have a laptop with which to take notes.  We are using a WIndows Server 2003 environment.  It has to be networked so that this student can have access to his network documents.  I set up a user accout for the student to use on the laptop that restricts everything except Word and the printer.  Unfortunately, there is nothing stopping him from logging on to the laptop with his regular account.  I would like to restrict it so that only this one student accout (and the administrator, of course) can log on to the computer.  As a helpful byproduct, this woud also discourage anyone from stealing the laptop.  Can SteadyState do this?  Thanks

Adam

Wednesday, April 2, 2008 9:57 PM

Answers

•  

Hi Adam,

Thanks for posting here!

From the post, I'd like to confirm if you would like to disable the student's local administrator account to log on the laptop and only permits his restricted domain account. If this is the case, I consider we can also use SteadyState to restrict his local administrator account to use the computer, or we can change the account to power user/User group.

If I have misunderstand you, please feel free to correct me. Thank you.

Best regards,

Monday, April 7, 2008 5:22 AM

All replies

•  

Hi Adam,

Thanks for posting here!

From the post, I'd like to confirm if you would like to disable the student's local administrator account to log on the laptop and only permits his restricted domain account. If this is the case, I consider we can also use SteadyState to restrict his local administrator account to use the computer, or we can change the account to power user/User group.

If I have misunderstand you, please feel free to correct me. Thank you.

Best regards,

Monday, April 7, 2008 5:22 AM
  •  

Sean-