Combining multiple sourceTypes in a searchRequest RRS feed

• Question

• Hi team,

I was playing around with the new API and created an application that combined Web, Spell, Phonebook, Image & RelatedSearch source types into one search request.

When i run my searches, I get all the sourcetypes (except Spell) filled when the search is 'BMW' but nothing is returned with the word 'green'.

Can all these sourcetypes be intermixed into one SearchRequest or should I separate some of them. (e.g have a different request for the images or phonebook). As far as I can see, it shouldn't matter because the searchResponse just fills the response objects that it finds results for so I can iterate thru them.

Now, I'm a newb and need to understand concepts. I'm pretty much just copying and pasting stuff and haven't deeply thought about what I'm doing. (I'm 99% sure there is some logic error in my app)

If that didn't make sense.. never mind me Smile

AND PLEASE post a code sample of using all the source types in one application. It would be much appreciated by me.

Monday, November 17, 2008 5:37 PM

Answers

• The xRank and Movie Showtimes type is not available for public consumption yet. They are two of the types available by invite only in the beta.

HTH

--Alessandro

Wednesday, November 19, 2008 4:52 PM

All replies

• There is a multiple sourcetype code sample in the SDK has at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd250902.aspx

See if it helps you. It only has two source types, but the generalization to n should be straightforward.

We intentionally avoided very complex samples because we preferred to keep the code snippets very essential and very "cut&paste-ready". We may add one if there is enough demand and our choice ends up proven wrong.

Regarding your app's problem. it's hard to tell what is going wrong without seeing the code or the request you send (depending on the interface you are using). If you don't mind pasting the relevant part we can help you

HTH