Is Vail right for me. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm pretty new to WHS and Vail so i had a few questions in mind..

- I have like 7 drives in raid5 hooked on an highpoint 2320 raid controller, will vail support this array (5TB)?

In other words, do Vail support >2TB partitions ? (GPT)

Thx,

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 1:15 PM

Answers

• The Microsoft mantra in this area is "RAID is not a consumer technology". Never mind that consumers may use it, creating and managing a RAID array is well beyond the comfort zone of someone with average technical skills.

That said, yes, Vail will support large disks. However, you will have to move your content off, and back on, to the array; when you add it to server storage it will be formatted.

Please read all the available documentation about Windows Home Server V1 (available through the appropriate section of the Microsoft web site) and Vail (available on Connect).

I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Wednesday, September 22, 2010 2:51 PM

All replies

• The Microsoft mantra in this area is "RAID is not a consumer technology". Never mind that consumers may use it, creating and managing a RAID array is well beyond the comfort zone of someone with average technical skills.

That said, yes, Vail will support large disks. However, you will have to move your content off, and back on, to the array; when you add it to server storage it will be formatted.

Please read all the available documentation about Windows Home Server V1 (available through the appropriate section of the Microsoft web site) and Vail (available on Connect).

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 2:51 PM
  • Not in front of my Vail box right now, but could w00tie not install VAIL on a separate drive and then share out the current data on the RAID array without adding it to the storage pool?  Of course this requires using RDP or local log on to setup and configure....  Not everyone has 5TB of free drive space sitting around....