Possible to make HKLM\<ENTER-NAME> writable on Windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a developer using Visual Studio 2005 and a .NET 2.0 application. The app work fine on Windows XP but not on Windows 7. The app writes to a specific keys under HKLM\MyCompanyName.

Is it possible to make HKLM\MyCompanyName (and child nodes) fully writable (both programmatically and manually) while maintaining the general Windows 7 security for other parts of the HKLM registry? These changes can be made manually because the app is a low volume, highly technical app that gets installed on a dedicated PC in a factory. Ideally there should be no UAC prompts and no Registry Virtualisation or any other software source code changes should be required.

Thanks in advance,
    Alain

Wednesday, June 20, 2012 11:34 AM

Answers

• "Alain Dekker, 2" wrote in message news:4beb5d54-bdb5-4cc2-977e-1b0ae23311de...

Hi,

I'm a developer using Visual Studio 2005 and a .NET 2.0 application. The app work fine on Windows XP but not on Windows 7. The app writes to a specific keys under HKLM\MyCompanyName.

Is it possible to make HKLM\MyCompanyName (and child nodes) fully writable (both programmatically and manually) while maintaining the general Windows 7 security for other parts of the HKLM registry? These changes can be made manually because the app is a low volume, highly technical app that gets installed on a dedicated PC in a factory. Ideally there should be no UAC prompts and no Registry Virtualisation or any other software source code changes should be required.

Thanks in advance,
    Alain

Please post  in a more appropriate forum - this post is sufficiently close to your ealrier one that it could beincluded in the same question - certainly in the same forum.

[edited to improve accuracy]

Noel Paton | Nil Carborundum Illegitemi | CrashFixPC | The Three-toed Sloth
    Wednesday, June 20, 2012 11:53 AM

All replies