Access a backup when the client is offline? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to WHS, so this might be a dumb question:

If a client is connected to Vail I can browse the backup and access single files, etc.  However, if the client is a laptop and on an 18 hour flight to East Jabib, I belive that I can't browse the local backup and access a needed file, correct?  I can see that there are good reasons why you might not want to allow this, but wouldn't it be handy to be able to configure the system to permit it?

If not, what's everyone's solution to allow access to files on clients that may be offline, without duplicating lots of storage? 

Thanks!

John

Friday, September 24, 2010 6:40 PM

Answers

• So I'm set up as follows:

Successful backups on Clients A, B, and C.

Client A is offline, say on the flight to Zimbabwe.  Actually, just shut down in my briefcase.

Client B is online.  Start dashboard on Client B.  I'm trying to get at a file on Client A by browsing the backup of Client A on Vail.

Going to "Computers and Backups" on the dashboard, and selecting "Client A", the only option I can see to get to the backup is "Restore Files and Folders for The Computer."  (Possibly this is where I'm going wrong, but I don't see any other option to access the backup.)

Selecting that option opens a window with the message "Opening a list of available backups"

The window eventually times out with the message "Cannot initiat the restore process.  Make sure that all services are running on the computer to which you want to restore files or folders and then try again."

Now, if I start Client A and connect it to the server and do the same thing (using Client B, selecting "Restore Files and Folders" of Client A) , I can see and browse the entire backup  from Client B with no problems.   

So my question is how to I access the backup files and folders when Client A is offline?

John

That's not normal behavior.  You should file a bug report for that on Connect.