locked
Deleted files RRS feed

  • Question

  • If I delete a lot of unneccessary files from my PC, will they also be deleted on my back-up?  In the report it only shows files added.

     

    Thanks

    Thursday, January 17, 2008 3:45 PM

Answers

  • When you create a new full  backup, the backup catalog is started. All files matching your selection criteria are backed up.

    When you next run backup, it is incremental, backing up new and changed files. Files deleted between the first backup and the next backup are not removed from the backup destination, though they are marked as deleted within the "catalog" used by Backup.

    If you perform a complete restore, the catalog identifies what files are to be restored and files that had been deleted will not be restored. You can, however, perform a custom restore and recover specific deleted files.

    If you don't want deleted files in your backup set, you will need to delete your old backups - http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsOneCare/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1698096&SiteID=2 - and start a new full backup.

    -steve

    Thursday, January 17, 2008 6:25 PM
    Moderator