Client Db not Updating RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to sync services and have a couple questions.  I am really struggling with the anchors that the client is using to perform updates and such.

Background:

I am using a SqlExpressClientSyncProvider class that I found online.

User's of the system will vpn in when they synchronize; therefore, I will have direct access to the database via an ip address (not using a web service).

I'm using sql express on the client and sql 2000 on the server.

I'm using the "orders"/"order_details" sample to cut my teeth on and keep it simple; therefore, my "anchor" table (on the client) has a row for each of these tables.  The "anchor" table also has two additional columns, "sentanchor" and "receiveanchor".

Scenario:

Both client and server dbs are empty.

On the Client, I add a row to the "orders" table.

I then run the app and synchronize the client with the server.  The server receives the changes and its "orders" table is updated with the row from the client.

On the Server, I change the "order_date" (in Enterprise Manager).

I then synchronize the client with the server.  Note:  I have a message box display statistics about the sync.

The app notifies me (via the messagebox) that one row was downloaded.  Which is good.  But the client "orders" row is not updated.

Problem:

The client "orders" row is not updated.

The client's "sp_orders_applyupdates" proc is called to perform the update.  Here it is:

ALTER procedure [dbo].[sp_orders_applyupdate]

@sync_last_received_anchor binary(8),

@sync_row_count int out,

@order_id int,

@order_date datetime

as

update [orders]

set [order_date] = @order_date

where (update_timestamp <= @sync_last_received_anchor

or update_originator_id <> 0)

and [order_id] = @order_id

--where [order_id] = @order_id

if @@rowcount = 1

--once you apply update from server, set your originator id to be servers

update [orders] set update_originator_id = 1 where [order_id] = @order_id