none
Study guides for SQL Administration 70-432 RRS feed

• Question

• I am getting ready to sit my first SQL exam.  I have 12 years of experience in the server admin field (MCSE NT, MCSA 2000, MCSA 2003), so I know what to expect from these types of exams.  My current job is more SQL oriented.  I have two books left from a long-gone employee, the MS Press 70-432 and the Sybex book.  What I am concerned about is that the MS Press book, unlike most of the other MS Press books that Ive used over the years, appears to be written for someone already versed in SQL coding and does not reference the SQL Server Management Studio, which is what our company uses.  The Sybex is far better written and is what I am using.  Normally Ive used the MS Press exams enclosed with the book but this book is missing them.  Could someone provide some guidance on any recommended guides and test exams?  In addition, Ive never taken a "coding" type of exam.  Are you expected to type in the "code" or are you given multiple choices on code on how to back up a database for example?

Thanks,
    Brian

Brian Fink, MCSE

Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:33 PM

Answers

All replies

• MeasureUp and Self Test Software provide 70-432 test exams which are recommended by Microsoft.

Collection 6369: Implementing and Maintaining Microsoft SQL Server 2008 is a great eLearning tool

Details of the types of question you should expect in an exam can be found here http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-AU/CertGeneral/thread/47aedf10-ea1b-4628-a116-263760e4db50.  NDA forbids anyone providing details of the actual content and structure of any exam.

This and other SQL exams may ask questions which can be answered using T-SQL and/or SSMS therefore you will need to know and understand both T-SQL and SSMS.