locked
How does WHS handle local changes? RRS feed

  • Question

  • If I were to change something on a client system, say delete a folder, that had been part of the nightly backups, how does WHS handle that new mismatch?

    What about something extreme, such as using a manufacturer's recovery CD to rebuild a system?  What would WHS do the next time it connected?
    Monday, June 18, 2007 8:44 PM

Answers

  •  

    When you delete a folder, it will not exist in afterwards version of backup. The data will be kept in the older versions of backup on the server.

     

    In the latter case I think the client will be recognized as a new computer instead of the old one.

    Monday, June 18, 2007 10:21 PM

All replies

  •  

    When you delete a folder, it will not exist in afterwards version of backup. The data will be kept in the older versions of backup on the server.

     

    In the latter case I think the client will be recognized as a new computer instead of the old one.

    Monday, June 18, 2007 10:21 PM
  • The client will be recognized as a new computer, if it's given a different machine name than it had previously. If it has the same machine name, I've found that WHS can get confused...
    Monday, June 18, 2007 10:36 PM
    Moderator