How to update the fields of Parent entity using Plugin in MSCRM 2013.(Parent fields to be updated are not associated in the child entity. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to CRM customization. I need to update the Parent entity fields (attributes) which are not associated with the child entity.

I have a Parent entity named Products ( Fields: productname,price,total,productsavialable)

Child entity : Contact . In Contact entity  productname is lookup field of productname which is of the Products entity  named productselected.( N-1 Relationship is created by default on Contacts Entity)

My requirement is as follows. When the Contact entity is updated or new  Contact is created after selecting the productselected lookup field added to the Form  it should decrease the productsavaialbe by 1  and increase the total  fields by 1  in the Products entity.

But these two fields are not mapped or visible in the Contacts Form. I have read that we can achieve this by using Query Expression  by getting  the fields of the Product entity by using the productsselected guid on the Contacts Form.

I have found that we need to use PostEntityImages instead of Target in Plugins but I dont have any idea on this concepts.I didn't attach any image to the Products entity as well.

Can anyone please help me in this requirement as I have spent much time on javascript resources with no results. I need to complete this requirement using Plugins only.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks & Regards,

Fayaz.

FayazSyed

Tuesday, March 3, 2015 2:11 PM

All replies

• Hi Everyone,

I need to complete this requirement as soon as possible. Can anyone please help me .

FayazSyed

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 6:02 AM
  • Hi, i didn't understand, what exactly do you want to do, so i place some code and describe it:

IOrganizationService service = localContext.OrganizationService;