temp folder filling RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using WHS2011 for several years.  Everything was working very well. Recently, my operating system partition (c:\) was reported to been low on space.  I extended the partition size and it filled up rapidly again.

Disk cleanup does not appear to be removing files in c:\windows\temp.  I removed them manually.  The c:\windows\temp folder seems to be filling up with files named cab_nnnn_nn.  Is this normal?  How can I prevent this from happening?

Wednesday, December 2, 2015 3:26 PM

Answers

• These cab files are created when Windows is compressing the log files and afterwards they are normally deleted from the temp folder. It looks like you have a log file that is too large to be handled by the makecab.exe utility and this causes these cab files to be created over and over.

I would look in the \windows\log folder and in the subfolders there in for a large log file. If your system is running fine otherwise it is safe to delete that log file.

Luc.

Friday, December 4, 2015 4:36 PM
  • Thanks to everyone.  I tried the suggestions provided by Eve and Luc.  Luc provided the solution for my issue. Deleting the CbsPersist_ files in the log folder and deleting files in the temp folder and cleaning up the temp folder fixed the problem.  Large cab_nnn_n stopped being created.
    Sunday, December 13, 2015 3:39 PM

All replies

• Not normal. My Temp folder is only 309MB. I only have four files with a name as you describe with the latest date in 2012. Do you have any non-WHS software installed that might be causing the problem?

Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.

Wednesday, December 2, 2015 11:17 PM