How to change attribute value in a lookup? RRS feed

• Question

•  

Dear Members,

I am a bit new to CRM customization. I have an issue which is the cause to a lot of hiccups in my customisation. Can anyone tell me how to change the attribute value in a lookup. For Eg In the account section when I select the "parent account" lookup it always selects the "Account name", instead my client wants account number to be appearing in the lookup. Is it possible to change the attribute? The lookup always pulls the primary attribute of the entity. I guess I have to write a onload script to change the attribute of the lookup. Can anyone pls help me with it?

Thanx in advance

Best

Prince

Saturday, December 27, 2008 12:02 AM

Answers

• Hi,

This type of behavior is by design; a lookup will always show its related entity primary field.
    Here are a few workarounds you can use:

The simplest workaround is to swap the name attribute with the accountnumber attribute. This is the easiest way to achieve this since you only need to change the labels on the attributes. This might be a bit confusing to the developer since the account number would now be name and the name would be accountnumber.

The second workaround would be to attach to the account form onchange event and concatenate the accountnumber to the account name. If you choose this workaround I also suggest creating a new attribute to keep the account name without the number e.g. (new_accountnamewithoutnumber)

Both workarounds are useful when the system has no accounts. Otherwise you need to update all your accounts.

The third workaround would be to retrieve the accountnumber (ajax) when the form loads and change the lookup attribute text value to the accountnumber. Of course this is just cosmetics. You can also create a new attribute which would act as a container for the account number and show that instead.