none
As a Microsoft newcomer should I do .NEt 3.5 or .NET 4 certs? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

For the last 3 years my professional experience has ranged quite a bit (to be honest it's all over the place).

It has pretty much been 99% linux though so mostly C and network development. Recently I started working

as a PHP developer and I'm really enjoying the whole web development thing. I want to switch to Microsoft

web development though purely for more job prospects.

My language of choice would be C# but I've never coded in it before (1 year of VB.NET at uni is the closest

in .NET and 3 years of Java). I've gone through a few C# books and it seems pretty straight forward though

I haven't got into the parts which really define the language.

I would prefer to take the .NET 4 Web Development exam (70-515) but not sure if my lack of C# knowledge will

bite me. On the other hand, doing the 3.5 web dev cert and being forced into the pre-req exam (70-536) might

actually be a good thing. Even if there isn't a pre-req for the .net 4 certs, is there a 'things you should know' list

that I can work through?

I currently have around 6 C# books based on 3.5 and 4, the better ones are for 3.5 so I think I'll just learn

what's in them. I'm comparing the books and for a beginner learning the language there doesn't seem to be much

difference between 3.5 and 4.0. After that I plan to buy a ASP.NET 4.0 book work through that, then cross off what

I've covered on the skills measured list (or whatever is on Niall Merrigan blog for asp.net 4.0) then pick up whatever

the book didn't provide.

I guess my question is after all that is, for someone who has 3 years coding experience but not in .NET(C#), should

they do the 3.5 certs or 4.0?

Thanks for reading.

Sunday, November 14, 2010 2:40 AM

Answers

• I would prefer to take the .NET 4 Web Development exam (70-515) but not sure if my lack of C# knowledge will bite me.