Remote Desktop Issues RRS feed

• Question

• I have some questions, which I have a hard time finding the answers to online.

1. When I try to take over a certain vista PC from another vista PC my screen stays black. although on both PC's I'm an administrator. both PC's have UAC enabled.
            -> when I connect to the machine which I'm trying to take over with mstsc /console, I don't see any message or indication of live mesh trying to take over.
            -> The screen sais connected on my guest pc but stays black

2. When I use the same Guest PC to take over another PC with windows 7 I get the message "Do you want to allow for ... to take over this pc", after accept everything works

So my question is: can you disable this 'accept' prompt? I just want to take over the pc, it's a bit stupid if I can only takeover a computer if someone at the location  accepts it :)
    Tuesday, January 20, 2009 11:47 AM

Answers

• Hi,

The screen going black issue (when it says it's connected) is usually related to video drivers - either old ones or problematic ones. Updating drivers in a similar situation helped me, although others have reported mixed success. If updating your drivers doesn't help then I'd suggest collecting your logs (from both machines) and lodging a Connect bug, according to the instructions in the announce on the home page of this forum.

As for the message, I was under the impression (from other posts) that it timed out after 30 seconds or so, and defaulted to accept. I may be wrong though, as I have never actually seen it.

Let us know how things go!

Oren
    Tuesday, January 20, 2009 1:02 PM
  • Hi Mark,

Finer grained controls over the behaviour of the remote desktop module has been a popular request - in fact, now that voting has opened on suggestions, you can vote on it directly!

Cheers,

Oren
    Sunday, February 8, 2009 1:06 AM

All replies

• Hi,