Cannot open or restore money files after reinstallation n Money 2004 RRS feed

• Question

• When I have done this in the past (as late as April 2011) Money looked for an update as part of the installtion process, it now does not do that in eithe 7 or XP Pro. As a result I cannot load files, it just keeps giving messgaes that the file cannot be located. I have tried launching Money by clicking on the .mny file in My documents and that says it needs to upgrade the file and again I get the "cannot find" messgae. Have I lost 16 years of data?
    Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:33 AM

All replies

• Definitely 2004 and not 2005? Sure?
    Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:41 AM
  • Yes. By the way I'm in the UK.
    Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:55 AM
  • I was looking at the disc, apoligies you are correct just looked at properties it is 2005. I'm new to this froum process can you point me to the thread plese?

Wednesday, July 27, 2011 1:05 PM
  • No worries, I suspected it was 2005 I just wanted it confirmed. These threads will be of use to you, especially the second one.

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/money/thread/7a8004a7-4b5d-436c-b0c6-99167d9ce509

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/money/thread/dfa5b7bd-b200-4cd5-9e39-199dbadff09d

Jim

Wednesday, July 27, 2011 1:09 PM
  • Thnk you for giving me the threads. Because I do not have an installed version including the patch (I had to do a clean reinnstall of W7) and like other folks comments I have never backed-up programs because I would always re-install, I gather that as a UK user basically I've had it" unless MS offer something to non-US users?
    Wednesday, July 27, 2011 2:54 PM
  • Officially, yes you've had it. Unofficially, read the threads I've pointed out (and the other threads on the same page). I offered the critical MnyCoreFiles for download (for UK Money 2005), and others have now too. There's links to exactly what you need, either in those threads or ones on the same page. They are there.