Manually handling deletes with Sync __sysOCSDeletedRows and __sysRK RRS feed

• Question

• First post, be nice :)

I'd like to be able to identify the records that have been deleted from my SDF file. I've found a few references to the __sysOCSDeletedRows table and had a look into it. Looks great as a tombstone table, so I thought, let's check out the __sysRK. A varbinary(8000) that holds a byte[24] array that I assumed was the primary key of the record to be deleted.

I use Guid's as my ID's so I also assumed that this was a byte[] representation of my id, but when I tried to create a new Guid() from it, told me that it only needed 16 bytes not 24.

So I searched for any references to __sysRK and basically came up with a very minor explanation in a blog which didn't help me that much.

I started playing around and found out that the first 8 bytes are some type of identifier (I'm still not sure what it is which is why I'm posting this), and the additional 16 turned out to be my Guid.

I simply retrieved the last 16 bytes and created a new Guid() and was able to get my ID.

Can someone shine some light on the __sysRK column, plus am I totally fluking it and retrieving my ID in a manner that is haphazard?

Thanks,
    Bradley :)
    • Moved by Mahesh DudgikarMicrosoft employee Tuesday, November 24, 2009 7:13 AM (From:SyncFx - Technical Discussion)
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:33 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Wednesday, October 28, 2009 7:19 AM

Answers

• Bradley-

The __sysRK is the packed Primary Key column for the table.  Since all tables use the same __sysOCSDeletedRows table, SQL Compact uses a packed representation of the PK to allow PKs of all shapes and sizes to fit in one table.  The packed PK byte array has the following format:

Number of PK Columns (as Int32)
    The size of the first PK Column in bytes (as Int32)
    The first PK Column